Important Message

Effective July 1, 2022, vehicles registered in Franklin County no longer need an emissions inspection for vehicle registration. On Jan. 27, 2022 the Missouri Air Conservation Commission adopted an amendment to 10 CSR 10-5.381 “Onboard Diagnostics Motor Vehicle Emissions Inspection.” 10 CSR 10-5.381 identifies which vehicles are subject to emissions testing requirements and the amended regulation exempts vehicles registered in Franklin County from emissions inspection requirements. Vehicles registered in the City of St. Louis, and the counties of St. Charles, St. Louis and Jefferson are still subject to emissions inspection requirements. Further details for Franklin County motorists and inspection stations is available on the DNR website at:

If you have questions or concerns, please reach out to:

The Gateway Vehicle Inspection Program: Phone: 314-416-2115, Email:
Or the Air Pollution Control Program: Phone: 573-751-4817, Email:

Welcome to the new State of Missouri Gateway Vehicle Inspection Program Information Portal. This website is designed to provide helpful information regarding vehicle emissions and safety inspections in Missouri.

Missouri is proud to host the first tablet-based vehicle emissions and safety inspection program, guaranteeing a more streamlined, secure and efficient vehicle inspection for all.

The Gateway Vehicle Inspection Program is a critical component in improving air quality in the St. Louis region, requiring an emissions inspection program for vehicles registered in the St. Louis ozone nonattainment area. The region includes:

    City of St. Louis     St. Louis County    
    Jefferson County     St. Charles County    

Click to View Station Directory